Automatic check for duplicated questions

Automatic check for duplicated questions

by Giacomo Ciani -
Number of replies: 13

Hi all,

I'm rather new to Moodle, and only recently I started administering tests created as Moodle quizzes. I'm encountering a few issues, and I will post them in different threads so that they can be addressed independently.

Let me add that Moodle is administered by my university's IT services, and I have no control over the installation (I may be able to request some modification/plugin installation, but I'm not sure of the answer). I also can't fine any information on the Moodle version.

First issue I have is with the calculated multiple choice question type, which is the main question type I use. It is indeed very powerful. However, one big issue I'm encountering is the possibility (not that remote) that for a given set of random parameters, two calculated answers give the same value (or two values that look the same once rounded to the requested number of significant digits/decimal places). Of course this can be avoided by a (very) careful choice of formulas in the answers and parameters space, or by manually checking the answers corresponding to each random set of parameter. Both approaches are very time consuming and tiresome.

On the other hand, it would seem easy to program Moodle so that to check for duplicated values in the answer resulting from a given random set of parameters, and discard it (or display a warning) if that's the case. Am I missing something? Does this functionality exists? If not, can it be implemented?

Thanks

Giacomo

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Giacomo Ciani

Re: Automatic check for duplicated questions

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
(Your IT services should be able to tell you the version of Moodle that you are using.)

As a reference, I gave this presentation at a couple of MoodleMoots this year.