Proposed UX Updates to Assignment statuses with Feedback

Proposed UX Updates to Assignment statuses with Feedback

by Haley Koch -
Number of replies: 4

I'm fairly new to Moodle forums so I hope this fits here. We're using 3.4 and I've found the UX to be pretty awful for assignments, specifically around statuses when Grading is set to None. I've been searching around the forums and tracker and decided to propose some updates.

Overall question: should I now submit this to the Moodle Tracker? I’m not sure if it should be one issue or split up into multiple items.

Summary of Issue

It's confusing to the Student/Educator that the Grading status will always say "Not Graded" even though it's not possible to give it a grade. In our situation, someone else is creating the courses so the Educator is not aware of and cannot edit the assignment settings, so they need the Assignment page to tell them if there’s anything they need to do or not. Both the student and the educator want to feel that the submission is 'done', so the wording needs to reflect that there is nothing left to do instead of perpetually saying Not Graded.

This is expanding on this ticket about the grading status: https://tracker.moodle.org/browse/MDL-51776

Therefore, I'm proposing the below statuses that would display depending on Assignment settings (Underlined means this is different from current Moodle).

Grade: None, Feedback OffGrade: None, Feedback OnGrade: Points or Scale
Submission status
  •  Nothing submitted for this assignment
  • Draft (not submitted)
  • Submitted
  • Draft (not submitted)
  • Submitted
  • Draft (not submitted)
  • Submitted
Grading statusesDo not display any grading fields

Rename: Feedback status

• Not Reviewed
  • Reviewed
  • Feedback not up-to-date

Keep: Grading status

• Not graded
  • Graded
  • Grade not up-to-date