Installing moodle on a home PC then transfer to server

Installing moodle on a home PC then transfer to server

by Diskreet Baric -
Number of replies: 20

Hello, I am fairly new to this so I ask here for help.

I'm trying to install the Moodle XAMPP onto my PC then transfer it to a server so it can be accessed from the internet and not be local based. I managed to install it and set up a test but don't know how to transfer it and the instructions I found on the web a vague and confusing.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Diskreet Baric

Re: Installing moodle on a home PC then transfer to server

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

What URL are you using to access XAMPP on your PC?

Please provide url's to instructions found.

XAMPP on a PC should be considered for development and not for building a Moodle to be transferred to a web server for public use.   Backups of courses from XAMPP to a public Moodle server is doable and probably the best approach.

IMHO, one only needs one moodle server ... the one on the internet.   Moodle can be set up so that everyone has to login to it first to see any courses.  And the courses themselves can be hidden (thus one can develop all they like) and when ready for use, un-hidden for students to access.

My 2 cents of course ... am almost certain a 'defender of open source on Windows anything' might have a different 'opinion'!   How about it Windows 'fans'?  Help Filip out! smile

'SoS', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by Diskreet Baric -
I am developing the site, I was asked by someone to make a moodle site for a course they would like to teach with question banks so they can give them to students. I planned on using the Uni server to add another domain and transfer my PC moodle to there and use it.

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers