moodle and h5p

moodle and h5p

by Vicze András -
Number of replies: 14

Greetings and I apologize if I am asking this in a wrong sub-topic:

Our company is renting a server and had a moodle version 3.8.1 set up on that server, albeit the host/owner of the server made it clear the we currently cannot/are not authorized to install plugins without upgrading the server first.

So my question is: I noticed that when adding new activities/pages, there is a h5p button on the toolbar. Does it mean we could import and embed h5p files regardless, or do we need to install a plugin to handle h5p files beforehand? (Which would imply the necessity of upgrading the server.) Unfortunately many youtube guides/ videos I found about moodle and h5p date back to 2015-2017, and I am relatively new to moodle myself, thus I did not find anything "easy to understand" on this specific issue.

I appreciate any help/advice.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Vicze András

Re: moodle and h5p

by Melanie Scott -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

It probably means you have H5P already installed. If you go to Administration-> Plugins and scroll down. If H5P is on the list, you can create or upload H5P content.  Keep in mind, if you create directly in moodle, a lot of the 'features' must be 'installed', which really just means someone with admin permissions opens the module, and clicks Get and then install for each interaction type. 

I think there are two types of H5P activity options available for the activity chooser. One is the Interactive Content package. The other one I'm not really familiar with but have seen screen shots of its existence. I think it is just some sort of link out to the H5P site but can't tell you how it works. Make sure you know which one you're using.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Vicze András

by Ferran Recio Calderó -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Hi Vicze,