is it possible to save a quiz as a new template

is it possible to save a quiz as a new template

by Michael Elphinstone -
Number of replies: 4

Hi,

I have been using Moodle for about 12 years now for online grammar testing at an Italian university, but I have never really been involved in the actual design of the webpages etc . Initially, I created my tests (quizzes) from scratch using templates provided by the technicians here at the university, but later on, since the format of the test always remained the same, it was easier and more time efficient to simply duplicate tests and then make changes to the individual questions.

The problem now is that although I have a data base of about 20 separate tests, if I have several of these open at the same time, and I make changes to one that has a template in common with another, then the other is also modified. I cannot seem to change the templates, and was wondering if I could save each individual test as a new template.

Sorry if this post is not terribly clear; my knowledge and use of Moodle is not extensive, and I may have expressed myself badly.

M

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michael Elphinstone

Re: is it possible to save a quiz as a new template

by Beatriz Rojo -
Hi Michael,
if my understanding is right, and given the fact that you seem to have created a large pool of questions, I'd take some time to organize the question bank and then, I'll proceed as follows:
  1. Create a template quiz: configure only the settings, and save it without adding any questions. Hide it from students.
  2. Duplicate the quiz as many times as you need, and add the questions from the question bank. I assume you want different questions for each test - correct me if my assumption is wrong.