2 server setup

2 server setup

by Paul Smith -
Number of replies: 8

I am a REAL Ubunto newbie so please be gentle smile

I am trying to set up a new moodle environment and after some advice in a different forum, I am using separate Web and SQL servers.

So far I have identical Ubuntu 18.04 servers setup, I have followed various tutorial and walkthroughs but I am now stuck. I have managed to get to the pint where I can load the initial moodle setup webpage but keep getting an "Error: Database connection failed"

I have checked in the moodle folder on the webserver and I don't have a config.php, just a config-dist.php. Could this be the problem?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paul Smith

Re: 2 server setup

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Nope... almost certainly your MySQL setup is wrong and/or your GRANT command was wrong.

Firstly, Ubuntu out of the box does not allow remote connections to MySQL. This is a DigitalOcean help page but it should be pretty clear, https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-allow-remote-access-to-mysql

Secondly, your Database user *cannot* be correct. It isn't @ anything, it's just a name. You need to make sure your GRANT command is correct. So the grant (on the db server) would look something like...

GRANT .... ON moodledb.* to moodleadmin@'10.10.0.14' IDENTIFIED BY 'whateveryourpasswordis'

Replace the .... with the permissions (too lazy to look them up but never ALL) and 10.10.0.14 with whatever the IP or hostname of your web server machine is. Then (to repeat) your Database user is just 'moodleadmin'
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Howard Miller

by Paul Smith -