HELP: Theme Newbie Here! :)

HELP: Theme Newbie Here! :)

by Stephanie Ferguson -
Number of replies: 16

Hi there. I need some help. I've been working in Moodle for a long time but the site has always been hosted by someone else, and I didn't have access to change the site themes.  I always worked with the developers to get it branded how I wanted. I'm in a new role where I do have these privileges and would like to customize our site a little bit at least with the branding of colours of the background, navbars, buttons, etc. I don't know CSS so obviously I need one that I can customize pretty easily but also need one that is well supported. Does that exist? smile

We currently have Moodle 3.7.2 and are running the Boost theme. I like the clean layout of Boost, but it seems you need to know code in order to customize it at all. I also like Adaptable, but since it's not core...it is well supported or would that be opening a dangerous can of worms? Adaptable seems to have a lot more areas that are easily customizable with all of the submenus under it. Boost is not showing any of the same submenus. Again, I apologize for the basic question. I spent my aft searching YouTube and these forums but with no luck for the straightforward answer I need. Thanks in advance!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Stephanie Ferguson

Re: HELP: Theme Newbie Here! :)

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
Having a theme that allows you to change it without CSS depends on what changes you want to make and if it has existing code to support that.

Boost is based on the Bootstrap V4 framework (BS4). This does not support sub-menu's. Adaptable is a child theme of Boost, however, it has implemented sub-menus as there are 'sub menu' code fixes for BS4 but will have (I suspect) implemented its own.
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Gareth J Barnard

by Stephanie Ferguson -