Accessibility to the code

Accessibility to the code

by Stefano Pettorossi -
Number of replies: 6

Hi to everyone,

I hope to be writing in the right place... I'm completely new in the "Moodle World" and I want to develop an activity plug-in, but I do not find certain information in this regard (I watched this https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Activity_modules and others but nothing, sorry...).

1. where should I upload the plugin to make it publishable and installable on Moodle platforms? Respecting the standards and protocols to ensure that the updates work properly, etc.
  2. how does code ownership work? Once a plug-in is published, will it become public and will anyone have access to the source code? So anyone could "steal" it?
  3. there is the possibility of making it private or encrypted?

Thanks in advance to everyone and sorry for my english!

Regards

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Stefano Pettorossi

Re: Accessibility to the code

by Mark Johnson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Stefano, Before I continue, I should point out that Moodle is an open source community, we work on the basis of sharing ideas and code freely, so that we can all benefit from each others' work and experience. If you aren't comfortable working like this, you might find it difficult to particpate in the commuity. This being said, I'll attempt to answer your questions:

You should submit a zip file of your plugin to the Plugins directory. It will be reviewed and made available for other users to install. Many plugins are also hosted on GitHub or another public hosting platforms, for people to submit bug reports and patches.