utf-8 and mysql

utf-8 and mysql

by Robert Collazo -
Number of replies: 12
I've been running Moodle for several months now with no problems.  I need to migrate my Moodle installation to another server.  I'm running Gentoo Linux on my production server (www) and also on the machine I'm migrating to (testbed).  They are both running Apache 2.0.55-r1, MySQL 4.1.14 and PHP 5.1.1.  The only difference between the two machines is that on the testbed machine, I compiled MySQL using the "UTF8" use flag.  However, when I try to view content that is not in English on the testbed machine, it displays like this:

гÑабÑж

rather than this:

грабёж

Any thoughts?  I've tried to view it in both IE and Firefox.  The encoding for the pages is set as Unicode (UTF-8).

The relevant portions of MySQL's my.conf file:

[mysql]
character-sets-dir=utf8
default-character-set=utf8

[mysqladmin]
character-sets-dir=utf8

[mysqlcheck]
character-sets-dir=utf8

[mysqldump]
character-sets-dir=utf8

[mysqlimport]
character-sets-dir=utf8

[mysqlshow]
character-sets-dir=utf8

[myisamchk]
character-sets-dir=utf8

[myisampack]
character-sets-dir=utf8

# use [safe_mysqld] with mysql-3
[mysqld_safe]
err-log                                         = /var/log/mysql/mysql.err

# add a section [mysqld-4.1] or [mysqld-5.0] for specific configurations.
[mysqld]
character-set-server            = utf8
default-character-set           = utf8

I also have "AddDefaultCharset off" in my httpd.conf file on both machines.  The only difference between the two machines is that I compile MySQL with the "USE=utf8" flag on the testbed server.

The language file for my site is en_us_utf8 which sets the encoding to utf8.  I'm also attaching a screenshot.  The top portion is the correct way it should be displayed and the bottom portion is the way it appears on the testbed machine.  Any help would be appreciated.
Attachment screenshot.jpg
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Robert Collazo

Re: utf-8 and mysql