Locked out - need to enable email-based self-registration

Locked out - need to enable email-based self-registration

by Sylvia Currie -
Number of replies: 7
In preparation for summer vacation I disabled the email-based self-registration option on our Moodle site because nobody is available to deal with spammers. Unfortunately, this is preventing all site users who had previously self-registered from logging in. That includes me!

How do enable self-registration again? I'm an admin, but not primary admin. 

From the documentation (which I wish I had read before flipping the switch! smile )
The Email-based self-registration authentication plugin must be enabled to allow users who previously self-registered to login with that plugin.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Sylvia Currie

Re: Locked out - need to enable email-based self-registration

by Jon Bolton -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

The primary admin is probably a “manual” user so will still be able to log in. Ask them to edit your profile and change the authentication method to manual and you should be able to log in too.

Then you’ll need to do the same for all current users. If you have lots of users and have access to the backend database, you can do this through a sql query but if not, you can also do it using the bulk user upload functionality. Download your users, add an “auth” column (should be manual for all) and upload them again. Set the options in the upload to “update current users only”. I can you give detailed instructions if you need it.

In reply to Jon Bolton

by Sylvia Currie -
Thank you for the clear instructions, Jon. The primary admin is also on vacation so I'm trying to hunt him down.

If after I get access can I solve the problem by enabling self-registration again? At this point I'd prefer that than to cause further chaos by editing the bulk user file. We have 5,000+ accounts.

Thanks again!

by Jon Bolton -