Calendar - Category Events not showing

Calendar - Category Events not showing

by Susan Fleming -
Number of replies: 3

Moodle 3.5.1+ (Build: 20180824)

I have added category events to the calendar on the frontpage of our moodle site and as an administrator, I can see them, but no one else can.  I have checked user permissions, calendar settings, whether the category events are hidden - they are not.  I have searched the documentation relating to the calendar, but can't find anything relating to calendar viewing permissions or settings.  If someone can tell me what I am missing or point me in the correct direction, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Susan Fleming

Re: Calendar - Category Events not showing

by Manos Koutsoukos -

Hi everyone,

I had a similar problem: I created some category events which did not show up on my calendar as admin, yet they showed in the teachers' and student's calendars. I could also see them using my teacher account but I could not change them. So using my admin account I enrolled myself in one course of that category and then the events became visible and fully editable.

by Ro hu -

Hello ,

have you reached for any solution

by Raphael Menegaldo -

Moodle 3.9.2+ (Build: 20201103)

(Edited - see below)

Hi, I have a somewhat similar problem.

As an admin, I create an event, everything is fine until I change the event type to "category event". And then poof, the even completely vanishes from view.

I tried setting myself "manager" and "course creator" in this category, to no avail.

Is there any way to retrieve this event, if only to delete it?

Edit :

It appears it is a strange bug. I was tempted to say a display bug, but it goes beyond that.

As admin: If I reload the page, nothing changes. But when I add a new "site" event, then both the "category" and "site" event suddenly become visible.