I am looking for a solution, or workaround in the following problem.
I'd like to allow Non-editing teachers to be able to add students to their groups, but not to the groups of other Non-editing teachers.
I realize that they need to be able to see the full list of all the students in the course and to add them to their group. But I don't want them to be able to get into (read mess) the groups of other Non-editing teachers of the course.
It's fine (though not perfect) if the teachers would see the other groups, but they should not be able to change their enrollment/grades.
At the moment I have separate groups, each with an assigned Non-editing teacher, but I am responsible for adding students to those groups (Cohorts at the site level actually, but I don't need those, and would like to get rid of that part of my work ). Non-editing teachers manage their own group ("managegroups" is enabled for them) and don't see any other groups and any users outside of their assigned group. If I enable the "accessallgroups" setting, teachers then can edit all the groups in the course, which is not what I'd like.