Problems installing Moodle 3.6 (Build: 20181203)

Problems installing Moodle 3.6 (Build: 20181203)

by Jon Bradley -
Number of replies: 18

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to Moodle and the installation process. I'm currently getting this error. 

"Your database uses Antelope as the file format. Full UTF-8 support in MySQL and MariaDB requires the Barracuda file format. Please switch to the Barracuda file format. See the documentation MySQL full unicode support for details."

There are 2 others but this is the only one in red which I assume means it needs attention (I can't get past this.

I've contacted my shared host and they've given me a command to convert tables to Barracuda but at present the database doesn't have any tables to convert. 

I've seen various things about changing the db format to utf8 (which I've done) and adding code to the 'my.cnf' file but I can't find this. 

Does anyone have any ideas?!

Thanks in advance and apologies for my lack of knowledge!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jon Bradley

Re: Problems installing Moodle 3.6 (Build: 20181203)

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

How did you create the database? Did you specify the charset as 'utf8mb4'. If you're not bothered about the extended character support try just 'utf8' and collation 'utf8_unicode_ci'.

Oh... and moving to Installation forum...

In reply to Howard Miller

by Jon Bradley -

Thanks!

I just created the db using the standard tools my host supplies. The only options initially are MariaDB 10.1 or MSSQL 2014 (I used MariaDB).

I did have it set as utf8mb4 (under the 'Operations' tab) in PHPMyAdmin but I've just realised that's for collation only. Is there somewhere separate I need to change it to affect the database as a whole? Any change I make here is still giving the same error when I reload the installation page.