Setting up a bank of courses across categories and for reuse.

Setting up a bank of courses across categories and for reuse.

by Paul Anderson -
Number of replies: 3

Hello. I'm fairly new to Moodle Version 3.1 but I've been tasked with setting up the following platform: 

A suite of qualifications, each of which consists of up to 6 or 7 courses. Some of the courses can be cross-qualification, so if a student has passed course A for qualification A, then the system will need to pick that up as already passed if the student progresses through different qualifications.

So far I have created a category for one of the "Qualifications" and I've added several courses into that category. I've included an empty course in the category and linked the other courses in the category using the Course Meta Link function to manage enrolments. Is this the best way to do it?

The other main requirement is the re-use of courses as they change from time to time. So we need to have Course A, B, C etc. and also course resources such as quizzes, or a group of videos or documents, stored in some sort of resource library where a resource or course could change and then be applied to any new enrolments for that course. But! the existing/current students on a course must still see the original course/resource that was applied to them when they were enrolled.

Thanks in advance,

Paul 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paul Anderson

Re: Setting up a bank of courses across categories and for reuse.

by Michael Haynes -

1. Create a template course (Business101_Template) - This course is your current working version that you keep up to date, no students are enrolled in the course and is used as a template for a course that students are enrolled into.

2. Copy this template course and use a naming convention that allows you to track version eg. Business101_v1.1

3. Enrol current students in Business101_v1.1

4. Content changes so you update Business101_Template with these changes