General developer forum

Display inline due date for activities

Picture of Tyler Bogdan
Display inline due date for activities

Hello,

I'm hoping to create a new plugin to meet a need that we have within our moodle and I was wondering if this is possible and if someone could point me in the right direction.  I'm hoping to add inline information on activities, most specifically, the due date for the activity.

I am new to moodle development and was hoping that there is a hook that can allow me to do this.  Perhaps another plugin already performs a similar function and I can view it's source code to get a better idea.  I understand that applying this across all activity types may present a challenge... but perhaps there is a way to add a setting to specific activity types (quiz, assignment etc) to allow for this?

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
Picture of AL Rachels
Re: Display inline due date for activities
Core developersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters

Hi Tyler.

Probably the simplest thing to try is to use the Generico filter with some of the countdown timers that are in the following two forums:

https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=261896

https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=324771

And, of course, once you have the Generico filter installed, there are lots of other widgets besides countdown timers that can be used to enhance your site.

Picture of Tyler Bogdan

Hi Al,