Building in SHA-256 hashing for javascript

Building in SHA-256 hashing for javascript

by Garrett Boone -
Number of replies: 15

Hi, I'm new to the community and used to be an online high school math teacher. I'm now working on a project for a health-care provider who offers side courses. From a security standpoint, I've been brainstorming how to run CSP without "unsafe-inline" for scripts.

If anyone has a solution for this, I'm very interested in hearing about it.

But I was thinking that it should possible to build in a hashing function so that the loaded modules, even with random-elements to them, can have a SHA-256 attribute. I'm about a year into part-time programming, so I'm not an expert by any means. But I was reading about how someone took the js-sha256 package and used it with requirejs.

I only just read about AMD last night, and I'm still trying to wrap my head around how everything is structured in Moodle (been on this for just a couple weeks now). Am I going to run into a dead-end? If not, I was surprised not to see this already implemented. My goal is to not have to allow unauthorized inline scripts.

Thanks for any tips!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Garrett Boone

Re: Building in SHA-256 hashing for javascript

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Don't try to re-invent the wheel, particularly when it comes to internet security. You will get it wrong.

Use what is tried and tested and standardised. That is: run the site over HTTPS.

In what way is that insufficient?

In reply to Tim Hunt

by Garrett Boone -