Moodle for mobile

Relative Paths/Links not working in Moodle App

 
Picture of Plum Bum
Relative Paths/Links not working in Moodle App
 

Hi,

we are trying to work more and more with the moodle app. Since version 3.5 it got really useful. But we have big troubles with the most of our images. Because some of time are not uploaded directly via Moodle, most of them are uploaded trough ftp and when adding them to the site we mainly use relative paths in our html-files.

When we use absolute paths everything works fine. But, come on, it should be possible to use relative paths too. Moodle app gets the website url, so it could do the rest easily.

So is there a change, the moodle team could fix this issue?


Thanks,

Patrick

 
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
Picture of Dani Palou
Re: Relative Paths/Links not working in Moodle App
Core developersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

Hi,

where are you using those relative paths? Can you provide an example?

E.g. you could be using them in the description of an activity, in the contents of a Page resource, in a SCORM package, ...

Kind regards,

Dani

 
Average of ratings: -
Picture of Plum Bum
Re: Relative Paths/Links not working in Moodle App
 

Hi Dani,

I'm using them in the course pages.

And they're not uploaded within Moolde, they're uploaded manually via FTP on the same server in an upload folder and afterwards linked manually too.

Patrick

 
Average of ratings: -
Picture of Juan Leyva
Re: Relative Paths/Links not working in Moodle App
Core developersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters

Hi Plum,

we encourage you to upload them via Moodle so they can be downloaded properly by the app.

Is there any specific reason you don't use Moodle file picker for uploading your files? There are several ways to use the same files in different locations.

If it's not possible to upload it via Moodle, I'd suggest you use absolute links (not relative)

Regards, Juan

 
Average of ratings: -
Picture of Plum Bum
Re: Relative Paths/Links not working in Moodle App
 

Hi Juan,

thanks for your input. Yes, absolute links are the solution for the moment but they're not the smartest solution for us because the trouble begins when you start cloning the whole moodle installation for testing or whatever purpose.

The reason why we use our own upload folder ist the massive count of images and files we provide. So it's a lot easier to upload them via FTP than via Moodle's uploader. Also, we don't always want to provide all the information you have to enter while uploading via Moodle uploader.

But is there a specific (security?) reason why the moodle app can't handle relative non-moodle-URLs or could it be possible to add this feature in the future?

Thanks, Patrick

 
Average of ratings: -