Moodle competencies and the AQF.

Moodle competencies and the AQF.

by Michael Findlay -
Number of replies: 8

Hi everyone.

New moodler, although as a student I used it while at university, and I am setting up a moodle site (https://mapc.moodlecloud.com/) to learn my way around it as an VET (Automotive) teacher so I can continue on to get a Diploma of Training Design and Development as well as a Diploma of Vocational Education and Training. My intent is to learn on this site and then to use what I have learned to migrate it to another site that will enable me to use more modules that aren't available in MoodleCloud.

I have 1 question after looking through the AUR section of training.gov.au and reading a fair few of the individual units of competency for the Automotive sector I am wondering how to set up the competencies in Moodle. I'm not sure the script on github would work with the content on training.gov.au so I am hoping someone may be able to provide some guidance on how to set it up manually.

As a start I would work through AURASA001 - Apply automotive workplace safety fundamentals as it is a Certificate 1 level unit and only used in 1 qualification.

Any and all assistance is greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Michael.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michael Findlay

Re: Moodle competencies and the AQF.

by Shirley Gregorczyk -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

In Moodle qualifications = competencies. Competencies are awarded via activity/course completion.

Competencies are linked to a Learning Plan. Learning Plans are assigned to a Student.

This is a lot of administrative effort that maybe you do not need. There is no core reporting for Learning plans and competencies.

If a course or set of courses awards a certificate - Level 1, and then another course of set of courses awards another certificate - Level 2...I would not bother with the competencies and learning plans and just use courses and certificates.

In reply to Shirley Gregorczyk