Teaching with Moodle

Moodle vs hyperdocs

Picture of Tina Smith
Moodle vs hyperdocs

I am not advocating using hyperdocs instead of Moodle...I get that there is a huge difference...

What I am trying to wrap my head around...since I have zero experience with hyperdocs (only recently learned of them), and have much more experience with Moodle...is how the 2 compare and contrast and what sorts of situations would call for one over the other.

I figure on a forum like this there MUST be teachers here that have experience with both.

So my first thought is that most likely, hyperdocs is for classroom teachers that lack the time, patience and/or tech savvy to tackle Moodle. (Not that I think Moodle is super complicated...but there's definitely a learning curve.)  What I see as a possible problem with them, however, is that I don't see a way to lock down text so that students cannot edit the sections of content that you don't want them to. Maybe it wouldn't be an issue...perhaps older students....or perhaps if you have students working on their own copy...but that just seems like something that would really bug me. 

And it does seem to me that Moodle has a hell of a lot more options to be able to add into the experience...but perhaps some teachers and students prefer the simplicity of hyperdocs?

OR, maybe they are just different, to be used for different purposes, at different times?

I'm just curious what things there are to consider about these 2 options....I am thinking more from the student end. I feel they are both very beneficial...and perhaps just a matter of personal preference? 

But I would love to hear from people that have experience with both, what they feel are the pros and cons of each of these options as far as the student's experience?

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Joost Elshoff
Re: Moodle vs hyperdocs
Particularly helpful MoodlersTesters

Hi Tina,