Hardware and performance

Timing Out

Picture of Steve Hyland
Timing Out

Hi guys,

I am not an expert in this stuff, but looking for some direction. 

My server/moodle site, hasn't had any issues for 2 year until this week.

Now sometimes it operates very slow, and won't even load a page. After I close my browser and reopen and try, it usually will open a second time. But is operating much slower.

There aren't any more users than before (no more than 3-4 logged in at a time). 

However, my database has obviously grown much bigger over time.

I am using 2.9.7... 

Using GoDaddy, private server - Linux, 3GB RAM, 90 GM Hard Drive,

===

If anyone can make some suggestions, I would be very grateful! 

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Rick Jerz
Re: Timing Out
Particularly helpful Moodlers

I am not an expert, either.  But I have too been using a GoDaddy VPS for quite a while.  Right now I have a Linux 4GB RAM, 120GB HD VPS, and I hate to say this, it has been running great.  I got this VPS in January, and it has been solid for this entire year.

Okay, back to some ideas.

1) Have you done a graceful reboot recently?  If not, give it a try.

2) From SSH, issues a "TOP" command and see if anything looks strange.

3) In Moodle, go to Site Admin, Development, and clear your Moodle cache.

4) While in SSH, issue a "df" and see if you are short on disk space.

Now, on to more time-consuming issues.

1) What version of php are you running, and which database?  Are they somewhat current?

2) How big is your database?  Do you back it up?  How big is the backup?

3) Have you considered upgrading Moodle?  I am running the latest Moodle, php 7, and MariaDB.

Now, this might seem a little weird, and GoDaddy will probably not be able to help.