Course Activity - Slideshow - In Need of Help

Course Activity - Slideshow - In Need of Help

by MAG II -
Number of replies: 8

Hello -

I am new to Moodle, and I am struggling on how to find the best way to add images to a course to be viewed as a slideshow. Is there any way for me to add a slideshow, as well as set the time that each slide must be viewed in order for the student to advance to the next slide?

I've been researching it, and it seems as though Moodle 2.2 had this function readily available, however, I am not seeing it anywhere in the 3.5.1 version I am using. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to MAG II

Re: Course Activity - Slideshow - In Need of Help

by Shirley Gregorczyk -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

save you slideshow with the transition timing for each slide as a MP4 file.

upload the MP4 file as a video file.

The content will play as a video, advances using the timing values from the slideshow.

In reply to Shirley Gregorczyk

by MAG II -

Is this the most efficient way to add images as a slideshow to a course? If so, what Activity would I choose to upload images, and then create an MP4 video?

In reply to MAG II

by Shirley Gregorczyk -

You cannot create the MP4 file within Moodle.

If your learning experience is a slideshow, you can either make a .jpg of each slide of your deck and upload each .jpg as an image and let the student self navigate through each slide or save you ppt file as a .MP4 file ad upload the entire .MP4 file as a video. The student will have normal video controls to review the content.

I normally use the .MP4 for Course activities when the content is linear, and use the Book activity for slideshow content that allows the student to self-navigate, to previous slides at their own pace.

I do not use the Lesson activity, because the quiz format is different and not as robust as the Question Bank.