General developer forum

get_records_sql returns one user/course/activity/etc when there are many

Picture of A Guy
get_records_sql returns one user/course/activity/etc when there are many

I'm having a strange problem. I have been a PHP/Moodle developer for a while now. But this is unique, to me. Thought I would post here to see if you could help me out.

I have a  PHP script that taps into the Moodle code. I've done this many times. So no problems there. The problem is that database queries are coming back from the database truncated. For example, I use this bit of code:

If I query it directly in MySQL it returns all the students who are students in the given course. In one particular course I was using for testing there were about 25 students.

SELECT c.id AS id, c.fullname, u.id as uid, u.username, u.firstname, u.lastname, u.email
FROM mdl_role_assignments ra, md_user u, mdl_course c, mdl_context cxt
WHERE ra.userid = u.id
AND ra.contextid = cxt.id
AND cxt.contextlevel =50
AND cxt.instanceid = c.id
AND c.id =23251
AND roleid = (select id from mdl_role where shortname='student');

But when I have it in my program like the below it only has an array of one student--most always the last one in the database. So if I did a var_dump of $students below I would see only one of the 25 users that this query would return for one example test course.

$students = $DB->get_records_sql("SELECT c.id AS id, c.fullname, u.id as uid, u.username, u.firstname, u.lastname, u.email
FROM {role_assignments} ra, {user} u, {course} c, {context} cxt
WHERE ra.userid = u.id
AND ra.contextid = cxt.id
AND cxt.contextlevel =50
AND cxt.instanceid = c.id
AND c.id =?
AND roleid = (select id from mdl_role where shortname='student')",array($courseID));

I have even formatted the queries as recordsets and also as non-parametized queries. Same behavior. I've cleared the caches. Same behavior. I've tried other courses. Same behavior.