General developer forum

Machine Learning backends plugin

Picture of Cchtou Chtou
Machine Learning backends plugin

Hello, I am a beginner in Moodle and I want to create a plugin which learns users profiles using a machine learning algorithm. I already created my algorithm in python and I decided to use the machine learning backends type plugin(MLbackends). I'm struggling with the creation of the plugin since there is no examples or already existing plugins in the same type. Can someone tell me if there is already a MLbackends plugins that I don't know about? Is there a recommendation to use this plugin? Can I use the MLbackends moodle's core to create mine? How can I visualize results? Is it possible to add a predictor other than classifier and regressor according to my aims? Any answer will certainly be helpful to me. Thank you

Average of ratings: -
Picture of David Monllaó
Re: Machine Learning backends plugin
Core developersMoodle Course Creator Certificate holdersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters
Hi Cchtou,

Can someone tell me if there is already a MLbackends plugins that I don't know about? 

There are a couple of examples in moodle core https://github.com/moodle/moodle/tree/master/lib/mlbackend

Is there a recommendation to use this plugin?

mlbackend plugins are good for supervised learning problems. You can find the documentation here: https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Machine_learning_backends

Can I use the MLbackends moodle's core to create mine?

You can base your plugin in a core one, yes. Just extend the mlbackend processor class or require moodlemlbackend python package in case you want to reuse some parts of mlbackend python package.

How can I visualize results?

Visualization depends on the machine learning backend. Core's PHP backend does not include any special visualization. Core's mlbackend_python plugin outputs learning process data to a tensorflow summaries file