Moodle research

Data tools for Moodle 3.x focussed on SOCIAL, FORUMS and RELATIONSHIPS

Picture of Dom F
Data tools for Moodle 3.x focussed on SOCIAL, FORUMS and RELATIONSHIPS

Hi All,

When I search for "analytics" on this forum there are 1135 results across hundreds of pages - so thats good and very bad news. I'm an early stage researcher using moodle and I would HUGELY value some help with thoughts on tools for Moodle 3.x analytics that especially help visualise or quantify the degree of SOCIAL learning and RELATIONSHIP /DISCUSSION activity for any given learning group (not just a number / stats cruncher of "who looked at what and when"

Is anyone willing to offer some pointers? Ive heard mentioned of SNAPP, xAPI, Zoila (cant find that anywhere)  and NodeXL - Are there obvious differences?

It seems a huge field and I'm trying to narrow it down to something I can use to help me quantify the strength of relationships between learners and tutors and between learners and each other.  For example I came across this very helpful tool that gave really interesting "per student" social interaction graphs (see attachment below) but sadly that project and module looks lomg dead - was it ever replaced by anything?

I have a minuscule research budget, but hope I can find some fans of social learning anaytics amongst this group!

Thanks again

Dom

Picture of Elizabeth Dalton
Re: Data tools for Moodle 3.x focussed on SOCIAL, FORUMS and RELATIONSHIPS
Core developersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters

Hi Dom,

This is a good place to ask your questions, but you should also check out https://Moodle.org/analytics