Issues getting event listeners working

Issues getting event listeners working

by Erik Fox -
Number of replies: 6

I am new to moodle development as well as php. I am trying to get some event listeners working in moodle 3.5. At this point I am just trying to get some output in the console when an event is triggered. My plugin is in the form of a block. Here is my file structure:

Here is the code in events.php:

defined('MOODLE_INTERNAL') || die();
$observers = array (
array (
'eventname' => '\core\event\user_loggedin',
'callback' => 'block_simplehtml_observer::update',
),
array (
'eventname' => '\core\event\user_loggedout',
),
array (
'eventname' => '\core\event\course_module_created',
),
);

Here is the code in observer.php

class block_simplehtml_observer {
public static function update(\core\event\base $event) {
// This code works when put inside the corresponding 'store' function in blocks/recent_activity/classes/observer.php
$json_data = json_encode($event->get_data());
echo("<script>console.log('EVENT: ".$json_data."');</script>");
}
}

The rest of the files directly follow the simplehtml block tutorial on moodles development site. I am not sure whether there is something that I need to do in another file to get this working or I am doing something incorrectly in these two files. I have been trying to debug this for a couple of hours by looking at existing events/observer files with no luck. Any help would be much appreciated.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Erik Fox

Re: Issues getting event listeners working

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Have you bumped the version number in version.php? Until you do that, Moodle will not parse your db/events.php file to find any new observers.