Quite frankly, I do not really understand how this works, and all the documentation I was able to find is very shallow.
Say, I set a retention period of 6 months for our site
- What happens after the retention period passes?
- What gets deleted? Does only user data get deleted (like what "reset course" does), or do whole activities / blocks / courses get deleted?
- How can an admin confirm/avoid those deletions?
- Is there any way to set different retention periods for different types of activities (forums, quizzes, etc)?, without choosing a category for each single activity of that kind?
- What date determines when the retention period expires?
- Say i set a retention period of 6 months for a whole course - will the course be deleted 6 months after it is created?
- Or if only user data gets deleted: do forum posts get deleted 6 months after they were being made, or 6 months after the forum itself was created? what happens to child posts of deleted topics?
Any answer or pointing me to a good docu about the data registry would be greatly appreciated