Don't allow students to download our videos/ it shows "video not playing, try m4v"

Don't allow students to download our videos/ it shows "video not playing, try m4v"

by Ricardo Adrian -
Number of replies: 10

Greetings everyone!

I'm still new to Moodle! but I think it's a great platform. Now I've encountered a little problem that cannot seem to shake off. My aim is that the users can't download the videos that we offer to them (so they don't share it with people outside of the group), but when I upload any video, it shows "Video not playing? Try m4v" and that is a link to directly downlaod the video to theirs PCs... I've tried countless things to remove that but I couldn't figure out how...

If anyone could give me an idea on how to remove it, I'd greatly appreciate it smile . I'm attaching an image so it's more clear

The Moodle version I'm Using is: Moodle 2.6.11+ (Build: 20150619).

Thanks for reading my message smile

Attachment Video Moodle.png
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ricardo Adrian

Re: Don't allow students to download our videos/ it shows "video not playing, try m4v"

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers

Upgrade to v2.9, that should take care of that. My understanding is that the video player changed somewhere around 2.7 or 2.8 to resolve a number of niggling issues. Well, I know there were issues that seemed to be resolved by upgrading, this might be one of them. You could easily overcommit time in looking for  solution here.