Desperate: How do I customize the confirmation email?

Desperate: How do I customize the confirmation email?

by Cindy Dalglish -
Number of replies: 5

Hi,

I am not an IT person. I am a curriculum developer. I have been setting up a couple of courses and when I add a user, it sends them a default email with login instructions and to change their password.

I want to add more information to this email. 

I have tried a plugin but when our testers are getting the email, they are getting both the default email and the plugin email.

The plugin email isn't exactly correct either.

Any help would be amazing.

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Cindy Dalglish

Re: Desperate: How do I customize the confirmation email?

by Iñaki Arenaza -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Cindy,

Go to "System Administration >> Language >> Language customisation" and then:

• Select language to customise (English, Spanish, etc.)
  • Open language pack for editing, wait until it loads the language strings and click on "Continue"
  • Select "moodle.php" entry in the "Show strings of these components" select box,
  • In the "String Identifier" input box, type "newusernewpasswordtext" (without the quotes) and click on "Show strings"
  • Input the text you want to use instead of the standard text provided by Moodle, and save the changes once you are done.

PS: If you want to want to know more about how you can customise Moodle language strings and how it wors in general, have a look at https://docs.moodle.org/en/Language_customisation .

Saludos.

Iñaki.

In reply to Iñaki Arenaza

by Cindy Dalglish -

THANK YOU!

That works! 

Much appreciated!

C.

by Gavin Hartley -
Hi Iñaki,

I have got one question or maybe a couple smile