One Student - One Course

One Student - One Course

by Anand Hunt -
Number of replies: 6

Hi 

Please help me

I am new to moodle and installed it just yesterday.

I came to know that moodle is based on principle of one course and multiple students, whereby same topics, exams study materials are shared with all the students.

But in my teaching i provide every students its own course and other resources and also a particular student is not able to see other student student course , exams result etc.

How can i make such course in moodle?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Anand Hunt

Re: One Student - One Course

by Chris Kenniburg -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

You can create a new course and then force group mode.  

In group mode make the groups automatic and limit them to 1 user per group.  

Then in the course you create a topic for each student and restrict access to the topic with the appropriate group.

Now you have one course with one topic for each student.  Each student would only see and be able to work with their own materials.  However, you could use topic 0 or another random topic to allow for all students to participate in activities such as workshop or other activities that peer assessment or interactions are needed.  

This would be ideal for providing individual and personalized instructions for each student.  

However, you must have all the students enrolled first.  Then use the AutoGroup feature.  New students that enter the class would need to be entered manually into their own group after the initial auto-grouping

This doesn't scale well.  It's a lot of prep work for each student so it is best if kept to a low number of students.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Chris Kenniburg

by Chris Kenniburg -

Another solution would be somewhat similar but instead of using groups you would restrict a topic based on the user profile field such as last name, first name, or ID number.