after recently migrating to Moodle 3.4.2 and using the Boost theme I noticed that the content of the Participant list as well as the sorting order changed. Before it was sorted by last access to course and I could see the location of each participant. Now on first access the sorting order is by name and instead of the location I now have the Roles and the Groups as new colums visible.
My question: How can I change this back to the way it used to be: Sorted by last access to course (on first access) and with the location column visible and Roles and Groups removed?
The participants list has been combined with the enrolled users list so that you can now do everything on one page. You can sort by clicking on the last access column. Not sure if there is a way to set that as default.
Also search for "User identity fields" in your "Site administration" and add City and Country to these fields if you want to see city and country in the list of participants and in other lists of users. These fields will only be shown to people who have capability to view user identity in the current context.
Thank you for this hint. Having the location only visible to users with special privileges is a change from Moodle 3.2 because back then course participants could see the country and city in the participant list. I found this useful since we have participants from all over the world and it helped people to find others from their country very easily. Maybe in a future version the participant list can be made a bit more flexible so course participants can be alloweed to see each others locations.
I am also trying to bring back the ability to view students by location/country (and remove 'roles' view.)
I am unable to find a 'user identity fields' in 'site administration' in my 3.4 Moodle, can any give further clarification/instructions on this please?
Because of how multiple SISs are interfacing with the one Moodle, it was helpful when "Enrolment Starts" was an actual column on which to sort -- this gave us a way of determining which students were "first" in getting into the course.
Is there a way to bring back this column so an instructor does not have to click on the (i) button to the right of the participant?