Moodle cron service error (xml_parser_create)

Moodle cron service error (xml_parser_create)

by James Bisset -
Number of replies: 1

I'm a Moodle admin not a developer, so apologies if this is not the correct place to post this.  However, my problem appears to be closely related to https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=340314 so I figured some participants in this forums may be well placed to help.

The problem is with the Moodle cron service which I am using to back up the SQL database, moodle files and individual courses.

Here's the crontab entry for www-data:

*/3 * * * *     /usr/bin/php /var/www/moodle/admin/cli/cron.php >/dev/null

0 5 * * *       /bin/bash /etc/moodle/moodle-sql-backup.sh > /tmp/www-data-cron.txt

The shell script works fine, but I'm getting the info below by notification email every 3 minutes resulting from the cron.php entry.  I'm afraid it doesn't mean an awful lot to me, so if anyone can point me in the right direction that would be helpful.

My server specs: Moodle 3.4.2+ (Build: 20180329) Version 2017111302.03 
Ubuntu 14.04 (moodle14-04 3.13.0-85-generic #129-Ubuntu)
PHP Version 7.1.12-3+ubuntu14.04.1+deb.sury.org+1

James Bisset

Default exception handler: Exception - Call to undefined function xml_parser_create() Debug:

Error code: generalexceptionmessage

* line 80 of /backup/util/xml/parser/progressive_parser.class.php: Error thrown

* line 135 of /backup/util/helper/backup_general_helper.class.php: call to progressive_parser->__construct()

* line 280 of /backup/util/helper/backup_general_helper.class.php: call to backup_general_helper::get_backup_information()

* line 652 of /backup/util/helper/backup_cron_helper.class.php: call to backup_general_helper::get_backup_information_from_mbz()

* line 578 of /backup/util/helper/backup_cron_helper.class.php: call to backup_cron_automated_helper::remove_excess_backups_from_directory()