Can i auto enroll from Excel?

Can i auto enroll from Excel?

על ידי Jim Hynd בתאריך
מספר תגובות: 38
Sorry, I'm new to Moodle and am in the process of setting up my first course or two. I have an Excel spreadsheet with logins/passwords for all of our First Year pupils. Is there an easy way to enrol them all at once as an admin?

If there is do i put the list in as potential students or as enrolled students.?The email authentication isn't vital to me.

Thanks for your help. I'm quite excited by the potential of this חיוך

ממוצע דרוגים: -
בתגובה ל: Jim Hynd

Re: Can i auto enroll from Excel?

על ידי Thomas Robb בתאריך
You can't directly enroll the students from an .XLS file, but you can if you first save the sheet in CSV format, making sure that you have 1) the proper headings in row 1 and, 2) only the fields that are either required or optional represented on the sheet.

You can see which fields are required and/or optional by clicking on the help "?" under admin/users/upload users.

Here are the required fields, though:
username,lastname,firstname,password,email

If you want to enroll them in one or more courses, then just add ",course1,course2" (etc.) to the list of fields in row one, and then place the "short name" of the course (being careful of the case of the letters) all the way down the column.

Below, I've probably given more help than you need, but someone in the future might find this info useful. If you don't have your excel spreadsheet in exactly the correct format, here are some perhaps useful tips.

To create a spreadsheet with just the correct data