How to use 1 moodle numerous databases and subdomains

How to use 1 moodle numerous databases and subdomains

by Rod Lawson -
Number of replies: 1

Hello,

I’ve wracked my brain looking through all of the forums and not really finding a definitive answer to my needs. First off, I’m not a programmer, so if there’s an answer it should possibly be in layman’s terms.

So far, I’ve setup my Moodle site as https://mysite/myschool and works fine.

I’ve setup the categories as separate companies and assigned managers to control their particular category. This particular setup is not ideal and I would like to try something new.

I know Moodle isn’t set up for multi-tenancy and I’m not interested in Iomad as it really doesn’t do what I want anyway.

I would like to set up Moodle so I can use multiple subdomains. For example:

mymoodle1.mysite.com its own database moodle1database

mymoodle2.mysite.com database moodle2database

Each subdomain needs to connect to Moodle and to its particular database.

I would like to use only one Moodle install, but a separate database for each subdomain.

The problem I’m having is that I don’t understand how to configure this.

This is my single moodle config file.

<?php  // Moodle configuration file

unset($CFG);

global $CFG;

$CFG = new stdClass();

$CFG->dbtype    = 'mysqli';

$CFG->dblibrary = 'native';

$CFG->dbhost    = 'localhost';

$CFG->dbname    = 'myschool;

$CFG->dbuser    = '_name';

$CFG->dbpass    = 'password';

$CFG->prefix    = 'mdlmg_';

$CFG->dboptions = array (

'dbpersist' => 0,

'dbport' => '',

'dbsocket' => '',

'dbcollation' => 'utf8_general_ci',

);

$CFG->wwwroot   = 'https://mysite.com/myschool';

$CFG->dataroot  = '/home/xxxxxxxx/moodledata';

$CFG->admin     = 'admin';

$CFG->directorypermissions = 0777;

require_once(__DIR__ . '/lib/setup.php');

// There is no php closing tag in this file,

// it is intentional because it prevents trailing whitespace problems!