Using Q&A Forum

Using Q&A Forum

by Hannah Tyreman -
Number of replies: 6

Hello!

I've created a Moodle forum to serve as an assessment for our students. 

I chose this forum as I want participants to write their own response before being influenced too much by other students' posts. 

In 'Activity Completion', I'm wondering how the following will work- I want it to automatically mark the student as complete if they've replied to my question and to 2 other participants' posts. So 3 replies in total...

Will these settings (in the image below) cover that (as they're not actually posting a discussion as they would in another forum)... or do I need to set the number of replies to 3 instead?

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Hannah Tyreman

Re: Using Q&A Forum

by Dave Emsley -

Looks right to me.

Dave

In reply to Dave Emsley

by Hannah Tyreman -

Thanks very much Dave!

I'm a bit of a beginner with the tool and because students would be responding to me and not starting their own discussion, I wasn't sure... Sometimes the language on Moodle is odd/misleading. 

by Kim Salinas -
Picture of Testers

Hi Hannah

You may need to experiment with this a bit. I am pretty sure a student cannot create a discussion (start a new thread) in a Q & A forum. They only have the option to reply to the thread the teacher posts. If this is the case, you would want to change your settings to 3 on the replies and uncheck the create discussion box.

Average of ratings: Useful (4)
In reply to Kim Salinas

by Ed Beck -

Hannah,

I'm pretty positive that Kim is right.

Ed

by Joséphine Misson -

Hi Hannah, 

I was wondering, if I get what you are saying, you'd like to create a way to asses your students while they are not influenced by other students responses right?