Linking the access of a topic to the result of a single quiz question

Linking the access of a topic to the result of a single quiz question

by Francesco Pisano -
Number of replies: 6

Hi everyone,

I'm new in the Moodle world and in this forum.

For my course I need to activate the arguments based on the result of a quiz (true / false quiz).

Each topic is associated with a quiz question and depending on the answer the topic will be displayed or not.

Here a simple example:

- Course with N topics

- then, Quiz with N questions (one for each topic)

- each question is like: "Do you already know the topic X?"

At the end of the quiz:

only the topics Xi will be shown for which the student, in the quiz, said he was not prepared on the topic.

---

For a course with few arguments I would be able to provide specific univocal scores to the quiz questions and adjust the access to the sections according to the result using the access conditions and therefore the access criterion "evaluation".

This method works.

The problem is that as the number of topics grows exponentially the number of conditions to apply to the topic (for 10 topics, there would be 10 questions, and therefore 512 restrictions for each topic: too many)

I also thought about the possibility of adding a field to the user profile (one for each topic) and making sure that this field is modified according to the type of answer to the related question of the quiz, so that then exploit the field in the access conditions argument. But I do not know how to implemet in this way either.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to solve the problem?

Thank you

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Francesco Pisano

Re: Linking the access of a topic to the result of a single quiz question

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Yes. See this documentation - Restrict_access