Securing Moodle Quiz

Securing Moodle Quiz

by Kompli Tivi -
Number of replies: 14
I'm in the middle of creating a final term quiz to be taken digitally through moodle. This is my first time.
I've no problems having weekly quiz, it been great experience for the students.

Now with the final exam, its a new ballpark for me, the quiz module will be given at the same time and within the same timeframe.
What concern me the most is what will happen if something goes wrong in the client browser in the middle of doing the test.
It can be a crash, disconnections, pushing back button,  closed browser etc.

So my question is it safe to do exam with moodle?
Does moodle record the session each time the student pushed an option?

If its secure enough, can anyone share any tips for doing this.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Kompli Tivi

Re: Securing Moodle Quiz

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

If each question is on its own quiz page there will be a complete server side record of what has happened after each button press.

In reply to Marcus Green

by Kompli Tivi -

I usually make several questions per page to decrease server IO (i suppose), i've done this for weekly quiz that have little concurrency.

Will it matter if i use one question page for the server load?

In reply to Kompli Tivi

by Mathew Gancarz -
Picture of Core developers

We run high stakes exams through Moodle Quiz module and yes, something can and does go wrong in the middle of doing a timed test. Computers crash, lose network connection, browser window closed, etc.