I have restored a Moodle with a new URL for test purposes, but it is very annoying. Using a Boost based theme I can not access any admin pages before I have updated the registration data or deleted the registration. Any ideas for a wordaround so I do not have to change the registration on moodle.net?
I have to say that I found that extremely annoying too. Even changing the url brought me right back to the page. I ended up removing the registration altogether just to avoid that as I did not want to register my dev site and that also removed the registration for my live site. I have created a tracker item - please vote!
You've got my vote!
And I think I will copy your solution too and delete the site registration
Duplicated moodle sites have always been tricky for the moodle.net registration.
Pressing "Update registration" has the same effect as just running cron on the duplicated site - attempt to update registration will email admin asking to confirm URL change. Unless confirmed nothing will be updated on moodle.net
However, if your copied site is a local site, the request will fail because moodle.net will not be able to access your site. But it will still unlock the /admin/ in your case.
Basically, don't worry about pressing "Update registration" on the site copy, it will not automatically overwrite your main site's registration information.
Alternatively you can remove information about registration from the copied site. Either do not to copy the table mdl_registration_hubs at all or delete everything from it after copying by running this on the new database:
delete * from
Problems with copied sites were already described in MDLSITE-4141
I deleted the site registration on the duplicated Moodle without any consequences for the original installation.
It is actually the system messages that is flawed, the pages have no site header, site footer og - most important - site menu.
Clearing the registration hubs db table has fixed this but there ought to be a "stop pestering me" button to get rid of the message, or at least confine it to the "registration" admin link.
I've voted for the relevant tracker item.
Updating the DB entry for the registration hubs to make the confirmed field 1 instead of 0 will remove the warnings. This is what I had to do since our sites are being run in offline networks.