General help

Students can't post to forum

Picture of Fernando Marques
Students can't post to forum

Hello,

I'm using moodle 3.3.2 and I added an announcement forum to the homepage.

How can I allow students to reply to this forum? As an admin I see the link to reply, but as a student I can only view the topics.

Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Helen Foster
Re: Students can't post to forum
Core developersDocumentation writersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTestersTranslators

Hello,

You're not the first person to ask this question! smile Please see 'Why are students unable to post in the forum?' in the Forum FAQ.

Hi Helen,

But isn't there a workaround to allow students to reply to the announcements forum in the frontpage? It's just because this kind of forum is the only one that shows the latest posts in the frontpage, not just a link to the forum (or am I wrong?).

Picture of Helen Foster
Core developersDocumentation writersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTestersTranslators

Yes, you could allow students to reply to the announcements forum by giving the role of authenticated user on the front page the permission to reply to announcements.

Hi Helen,

That seems to be perfect, but I having trouble finding that screen in order to make the change. Can you please guide me? (Moodle 3.3.2)

Thank you!

Picture of Helen Foster

It is indeed not so easy to find the permissions page. wink

If you're using the Clean theme:

1. Click 'Site announcements' in the Navigation block
  2. On the Site announcements page, click Permissions in the Administration block.

If you're using the Boost theme:

1. For the Site announcements click 'Add a new topic' or 'Discuss this topic'
  2. On the next page click Permissions in the Gear menu (top right).

Thanks, found it!

But changing the permissions, still cant reply to the news forum on the homepage logged in as a student...