General help

Call external URL on course completion

Picture of Jairo Portela
Call external URL on course completion

Good morning everyone,

One of the things we would like to achieve with Moodle is that it should call an external URL when a student passes a course or a quiz, is this possible?

Any hints will be appreciated.

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Howard Miller
Re: Call external URL on course completion
Core developersDocumentation writersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

An external URL to do what?

Regardless, I think it would require some coding. I have a similar system to notify our HR system when staff complete courses. It's a matter of trapping the completion event. However, in the real world it can get tricky. What happens if the external system is down (for example)?

Picture of Jairo Portela

That's exactly what we need, inform an external system that a course was completed.

I am not a PHP developer but I would appreciate seeing some of the code you wrote in that plugin.

And as you said, if the system is down there is got to be a contingency but it is supposed to be available most of the time since it is hosted in a cloud.

Thanks!

Picture of Howard Miller
Core developersDocumentation writersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

Help yourself, but do consider that this isn't very robust. A new/improved version is in the works - https://github.com/universityofglasgow/moodle/tree/gu33/local/corehr

This uses SOAP to call the external system but that could just be replaced by some curl calls. 

The Cloud == "somebody else's computer". They still break... I know this. big grin

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
Picture of Jairo Portela