Installing and upgrading help

Downgrading Problem

Picture of Carlo Doe
Downgrading Problem

Hello Guys,

I have a dilema, I'm new to moodle and I have less knowledge as of the moment. Apparently, my not so techy boss accessed our cpanel and tried to upgrade the moodle site on her own using softaculous. Because of it, the following things happened in order.

1. She upgraded from 3.2 to 3.4 using softaculous, and then she changed the PHP version to version 7. 

2. For certain reasons, she changed the PHP Version to older one and restored the Moodle back to 3.2 again using Softaculous backup restore.

3. Now the site shows the "Error reading from database".

I am downloading the files straight from the website including the database. I am not sure how to fix this problem. Any one knows how to restore the Moodle with the files that I currently have? Any assistance would be appreciated.

PS: I have scolded my Boss about it, and yes, she's very sorry.

Thank you!

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Ken Task
Re: Downgrading Problem
Particularly helpful Moodlers

First thing I'd do is call the provider and ask about why their software failed to perform ... and I wouldn't be nice!

Ask them about the Softac backups ... when was that last made and what does it include?

The database name you see in the config.php file of the 3.2 moodle code is the one to inspect..   There is also a DB host, DB user, and a DB password in there.  You might need help from their helpdesk to sort out which DB info you should be using for your 3.2 version.

If you acquired new code from moodle.org it might be slightly higher than the version you were running as a 3.2.   There is a version.php file that shows specific version information.   The backups should contain both the config.php and version.php files.

Don't forget to also download your moodledata directory as the contents of filedir must match the meta data that's in the DB (the correct DB ... the one that's of version 3.2.