search by tag

search by tag

by Gratiela Dascalu -
Number of replies: 5

Hello, everyone! I'm new to Moodle and still trying to find my way around. 

The Moodle version used is 3.3.1. On the front page I have the available courses listed and I need to add a search by tag input box that will filter the courses based on the tags that were added to them. I've been looking for a plugin to help achieve this, but no luck. Do you know of a plugin that would help? Or a way to modify the standard search to search through the tags and not the course title?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Gratiela Dascalu

Re: search by tag

by Karen Holland -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi Gratiela!

Have you considered adding a Tags block to the default Dashboard for everyone, explained here? It's not quite the same thing, but will show tags with varying font sizes based on the number of times they're used in your courses. Each tag is then also a link to show just the courses using that tag.

Here's the Moodle HQ Using Tags guidelines.

You may also have to configure the Tags block to ensure that you're not showing all the user-generated tags as well. 

• Block title - "Course tags" as the default Tags is a bit brief...
  • Number of tags to display - between 1 and 80
  • Display tags - advise setting this to "Only standard", as default is All - this allows you to control display by managing the standard tags
  • Tagged items context - leave this as System
Hope you find this useful!

Attachment tag_config.png
Attachment tag_display.png
Attachment tag_results.png
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Karen Holland

by Gratiela Dascalu -

Hi Karen,