Plugin not required anymore, best way to auto uninstall or make a warning on a "fake" upgrade?

Plugin not required anymore, best way to auto uninstall or make a warning on a "fake" upgrade?

by Dragon Dionysius -
Number of replies: 7

Hi all

First post here. I'm a Moodle Plugin Developer and I don't know if plugin related questions are right here.

I picked up a moodle plugin on which I work on during this semester and this plugin consisted of 2 separate plugin. The "main" plugin and a "question behavior" plugin. We managed to switch to the question-engine so we don't rely on the core quiz module and it's behavior settings anymore.

Is there a way to auto-uninstall a plugin? Or is there at least a neat way to inform the admin that this plugin is not required anymore?

Once the "main" plugin changes gets rolled out, they shouldn't use the "behavior" plugin anymore.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Dragon Dionysius

Re: Plugin not required anymore, best way to auto uninstall or make a warning on a "fake" upgrade?

by Sam Chaffee -
Picture of Core developers

Hi,

There isn't a way to auto-uninstall plugins in a site you don't administer because it would just re-install immediately since the plugin code would still be on the server. Also, uninstalling a plugin from a site you don't administer might cause those who do administer it some worry.

Without knowing more of the details, here is something that may work for you. It sounds like the "question behavior" plugin was a dependency of the "main" plugin. You could use that to require a new version of the "question behavior" plugin that is deprecated in some way. See the $plugin->dependencies section of this doc for more details.