General developer forum

Personal Assessment Tool - Maybe Survey Pro?

Picture of Alek Mlynek
Personal Assessment Tool - Maybe Survey Pro?

First off, thank you for the fantastic software and this community. I'm a developer that's looking forward to helping and providing support. In the meantime, I have this which I'll briefly outline:

1. Building a personal assessment tool (Think Miers Briggs) that has a series of questions that once answered, shows the computed results at the end.
  2. The assessment tool is sent by an individual in Moodle, and is not part of a 'course' but an independent system (Similar to Strength Finder, access code driven)

So far I've built two local modules to facilitate this behaviour, and everything is working fine there. The issue is the assessment itself. I had toyed around with the idea of using SurveyPro but here are my challenges:

1. Surveypro requires being part of a course (More clicks to get to it)
  2. I want to restrict surveys to my own credits system. So far I've only seen a date and user fields as survey restriction options in Moodle. In addition, it seems access is more tied to restricting entry rather than restricting by quantity

My solution:

I think, right now I've settled on simply creating my own survey via the Form API. As this test won't change, it's not likely fields will need to be modified. Also, if I ensure that I'm using get_string, the translation should not be an issue.

However, while I'm a seasoned developer, this is my first foray into Moodle, and it's likely I'm missing some critical pieces of information while trying to wrap my head around everything.

If anyone has tips, suggestions, or some words of wisdom with what I'm doing and how I could actually achieve this using the survey pro module, I would very much appreciate this.

Thank you,

Alek

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Daniele Cordella
Re: Personal Assessment Tool - Maybe Survey Pro?
Core developersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers