General developer forum

still not loving "moodledata"

Picture of Mat Gr
still not loving "moodledata"

Guys i need help!

I installed Moodle 3.3 on my Apache2 server running php5. The problem is: somehow it's just working to create the "moodledate" directory (where moodle stores some user files etc.) in "/home/[myusername]/tmp/". If i configure the config.php $CFG->dataroot  = '/home/[myusername]/moodledata'; and move the directory out of the tmp folder, but it's just not working.

"Fatal error: $CFG->dataroot is not configured properly, directory does not exist or is not accessible! Exiting."

I'm pretty sure it's not about file-permissions. Maybe it has to do with the php.INI settings... I'm not an expert.

Still loving Python :D

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Marcus Green
Re: still not loving "moodledata"
Core developersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters

The chances are that the directory does not exist or it is not accessible due to permissions issue and it probably isn't to do with php.ini settings.  Are you on a Unix style system or Windows?. If it is windows it needs to be in the form c:\\bla\\bla. Very few people love moodledata smile

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
Picture of Mat Gr

Thanks for helping me. smile

moodle is running on a server with Debian 8.9 / with Vesta. Just tried to edit the basedir.tpl and basedir.stpl templates in /usr/local/vesta/data/templates/web/apache2 But adding another directory to php_admin_value ... doesn't change a thing. 

I think it has to do with basedir because moodle is just running fine with having the moodledata in %home%/%user%/tmp but i just don't want it to save the data into a temp folder. It would be nice to have the data stored one folder upper public_html...

Picture of Marcus Green

It won't allow it to be saved within public_html (but you are not trying that).  Check who owns the folders, i.e. ls -l