General help

Oauth2 authentification - issue with Microsoft

Picture of Yvan Urunuela
Oauth2 authentification - issue with Microsoft

Hi,

I'm a Moodle admin on 3.3.1. We are a few teachers running an independant Moodle site (https with SSL certificate).

I configured the Oauth2 authentification as explained here:

It works perfectly for Google. Great.

But we've got an issue with Microsoft:
- It works when authenficating with a PERSONAL Microsoft account.
- It fails when authenficating with our COLLEGE Microsoft account. In that case, we have an error A required parameter (code) was missing that appears on  https://oursite.ca/admin/oauth2callback.php?code=xxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

First, I thought there was impossible to have Oauth2 authentification with our college Microsoft account. But I succeeded in log in in moodle.org with my college Microsoft account...

Let's sum up:
- I can connect in https://oursite.ca with my personal Microsoft account, but NOT with my college Microsoft account.
- I can connect in moodle.org with my college Microsoft account.

Any idea or clue?

Thanks a lot.

Yvan

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
Me!
Re: Oauth2 authentification - issue with Microsoft
Core developersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developersTesters

I don't know what is causing your issue, but it was specifically tested with both work and personal accounts as part of the qa cycle for 3.3.

Posting the exact text and url of the error page may help debug the issue. 

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Adam Jenkins
Particularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

Do you have "prevent account creation" set?

If so, you will only be able to login if there already exists an account that has the email address of the Microsoft account you're using to login.

Try changing your email address in your moodle profile to your college email address and give it another go.