Transferring from Sandbox Site to Production Site

Transferring from Sandbox Site to Production Site

by Lisa Carothers -
Number of replies: 7

Hello,

I am a HS teacher who has ended up being the local guardian of our district's Moodle. I have administrative (as well as teacher) permissions, but our site is hosted by an outside company.

We are in the middle up upgrading from 2.7+ to 3.1+. Our host first upgraded our sandbox site. I reviewed how everything upgraded, added themes and blocks via Filezilla (with instructions from our host provider), and made lots of other changes like selecting and modifying the site theme.

I gave the go ahead to upgrade our production site, but nothing from our sandbox site transferred--no settings I had changed, nothing I had uploaded. I was told it doesn't work that way and that I would have to make all my changes and uploads to the production site.

What?! This makes no sense to me. Does it really work this way? 

Thanks for any insight or suggestions.

Lisa

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Lisa Carothers

Re: Transferring from Sandbox Site to Production Site

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

'Does it really work this way?" .... bottom line ... yes.

The sandbox is/might be on another server ... IP address - domain name - URL ... from the production server.   They both have separate code directories, data directories, and data base servers/data bases - thus are really two separate sites ... not tied together in any form or fashion.

While this appears to be inefficient, it's not.   Upgrades sometimes brings issues so going through the entire process on a sandbox (that other teachers/students may not access) is a 'test run'.   One thing about such a setup ... you, the admin, get to step through things twice and you should, by having to re-do on production, should be fairly familiar with the new system.