After Moodle install - can't get to website to continue install 404

After Moodle install - can't get to website to continue install 404

by Wayne Eaton -
Number of replies: 17

Debian 9,  Apache, MySQL, PhP

First, I'm new to LAMP and I'm finding things very difficult.  My company is looking to try out Moodle.  I've followed the process outlined here: https://docs.moodle.org/19/en/Step-by-step_Install_Guide_for_Debian#Install_Debian and after figuring out that aptitude has been replaced by apt-get, and that I needed to install php-cgi before I could install php7-cig -gd -curl -xmlrpc -cli,  everything seemed to go fine.  At the end of the process it says to go to the URL and I get a 404 error in my browser.  I go directly to the IP of my server and the Apache splash screen pops up so it appears Apache is running fine.

I've read about the config.php file which this install did NOT create.  So I copied the config-dist.php file to a config.php file and modified it as best I could from the information I used during the install.  Still nothing.

Again, I'm super new to LAMP and if there was a step missing in the process I followed, I don' t have any idea on how to troubleshoot this.  I've Googled to no end, but not coming up with anything.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Wayne Eaton

Re: After Moodle install - can't get to website to continue install 404

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Don't use Debian myself, rather CentOS, but a LInux is a linux.   While there are similarities there's enough of a difference ... this to say cannot give specifics ... but one ...

Please use/see:

https://docs.moodle.org/33/en/Installing_Moodle_on_Debian_based_distributions

Rather than installing a 1.9 ... which is now very very very old and no longer supported for anything.