Making Moodle more object oriented

Making Moodle more object oriented

by Greg Barnett -
Number of replies: 8

Hello,

First let me introduce myself briefly.  I am a system administrator / programmer / web developer for Crown College.  We are currently in the process of implementing moodle.  As part of the process of putting Moodle into place, I've had to use various Moodle functions in some of my other PHP scripts.  In order to clearly identify where those functions were coming from, I wanted to have them be a part of a class.  I added a few lines to moodlelib.php to accomplish this, in a manner that still allows the functions to be a part of the global namespace.

With my modified moodlelib.php, I can now use

moodle::isteacher($courseID);

instead of

isteacher($courseID);

Here is a diff with the changes I made, and I've attached a complete copy as well.

2a3,4
> #BEGIN_MOODLE_CLASS_FUNCTIONS#
>
2152a2155
> #END_MOODLE_CLASS_FUNCTIONS#
2153a2157,2171
> # Added by Greg Barnett for Crown College
> # !!! ugly magic value...
> $moodle_file_lines = file("/var/www/html/moodle/lib/moodlelib.php");
>
> $append = False;
> $moodle_functions = '';
> foreach ($moodle_file_lines as $line):
>     if(trim($line) == "#BEGIN_MOODLE_CLASS_FUNCTIONS#"):
>         $append = true;
>     elseif(trim($line) == "#END_MOODLE_CLASS_FUNCTIONS#"):
>         break;
>     elseif($append):
>         $moodle_functions .= $line;
>     endif;
> endforeach;
2154a2173
> eval ("class moodle {" .  $moodle_functions . "}");

If there is a preferred method of submitting patches, please let me know.  There are two other developers here at Crown College who may also have contributions.

Greg Barnett

gregb@crowncollege.edu

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Greg Barnett

Re: Making Moodle more object oriented

by Greg Barnett -