Moodle v Dokeos v ATutor v Bodington

Moodle v Dokeos v ATutor v Bodington

ni David Brighton -
Number of replies: 2
We are a small school with only me to look after choosing, installing and running a system to support our post registration healthcare learners. I thought the group may be interested in the outcomes of selecting an opensource system for the next 2(+) years.
I am sure that all of the products I looked at are fine and worthy systems, and recognise that some of the comments are down to the limitations of my knowledge. As it turned out, the level of hosting we have proved a deciding factor as well. We do not have a dedicated host as I would not like to take on the risk of creating a disaster! It is also worth pointing out that I am a nurse by background and have not worked on this side of a proper VLE before, and although I can edit a php file if I have instructions to follow, I have no real coding ability.

It was decided to pilot with an open source software solution as this allows us to use a system for relatively little financial outlay, concentrating resources on developing content instead. The objective was to look at 4 open source systems that were likely to

• Offer suitable functions
  • Be robust
  • Have an established user base and future development plan
  • Be relatively straightforward to use

The process of selection went through a number of different installation, administration and usage assessments, with the idea of rejecting any product that would present problems in maintaining or using. In addition, aspects of course creation and student use have been looked at.

The product emerging as the winner of this process was Moodle, which seems to offer a robust and mature platform, that is relatively easy to install, maintain and use, and allows teachers and students the tools they are likely to expect.