Teaching with Moodle

Show content and questions on same page.

Picture of James Steerpike
Show content and questions on same page.
Particularly helpful Moodlers

As an ESL teacher I want to use a magazine article or audio to practise comprehension. I created a topic, added an  article as a page and followed it with a quiz with half a dozen questions. One topic, two activities.

The trial user, on a computer, read the article once before moving on to the quiz but didn't refer back to the article. That shows many users would find if difficult to use the two activities together. Using a mobile phone ( as do many of my students) would compound this problem.

So the article or audio plus the questions need to be on a single scrollable page. Looking around the forum, either a cloze question or a lesson activity seems to be the solution. This must be a very common scenario - how do others follow information with a series of questions?

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
Mary Cooch
Re: Show content and questions on same page.
Documentation writersMoodle Course Creator Certificate holdersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersTestersTranslators

Use a description question type for the article followed by the other quiz questions. Make sure shuffling questions is turned off and the questions are all on one page.

Average of ratings: Useful (5)

Tried that and it works. Not particularly pretty at this stage as students have to start a quiz to read the article and the background of the article is blue as it is a question.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
Mary Cooch
Documentation writersMoodle Course Creator Certificate holdersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersTestersTranslators

Well you could always have the article as a separate page as well as in the quiz description area, and even perhaps set it up so they can only acces the quiz once they have read the page with the article.

Average of ratings: Useful (3)

Good suggestion.